Imagine

Imagine if you stopped right now, and accepted that you are you.

That you accepted your flaws with loving grace, and just for a few  moments you silenced the tracks that play in your head of self criticism or self hate.

I stopped listening to the self criticism two years ago.

You see I’m a recovering perfectionist. After losing my Mum and then my Dad, I sought to hold on, to make my life perfect, that somehow by doing this, it would protect me from further loss. Did this work? No.

It was by becoming a Mum, and realising that I couldn’t be the “perfect” mother, that there was not enough hours in the day, not enough energy within me, to actually achieve this mythical status. So instead, I silenced the inner critic – who is still there, waiting for me to let it back in, and actually started to enjoy accepting myself.

Trust me, there is a lot to gain in acceptance. You. Yourself. And the peace of mind, in accepting that yes there are things you would like to change, but right now, you’re fine. You’re lovable, worthy, and a wonderful human being. And no matter how hard or how dark life can get, you will always find the hope to keep moving, and keep going.

This is one of the lessons I have learnt, and it’s one that I celebrate each day, self acceptance. And it frees up the time I used to devote to perfectionism, to self criticism, to trying to be someone I could never be, instead, I live a richer, fuller life, because I’m achieving in my own way, at my own pace.

I’ve gone back to University to study in a field I’ve always wanted to explore – I’m 44 now and I want a different career, one that will help people. I’m living a smaller, less consumer driven lifestyle, and enjoying every second of learning new skills, and new ways. You see I’m living the life I want, not what society expects, or what the self critic expects.

I’ve come to learn that spending time with my son is more important than trying to keep the house spotless, that the joy of play is more important to my son than whether I’ve found the time to sweep the floors and that time spent with my family, tops anything money can buy.

I may not have found your version of true happiness, but for me I am happy with being me.

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Imagine

  1. mithriluna June 7, 2013 at 11:36 am Reply

    Such a wonderful post. Reaching self-acceptance is such a gift that many may never attain. I think losing people you love really does change your perspective on life. Life becomes so precious.

    • spicejac June 7, 2013 at 11:53 am Reply

      Thank you for your kind words. Losing those who are precious to you, changes forever who you were. And makes you appreciate the life we have right now.

  2. roamintwin June 7, 2013 at 12:31 pm Reply

    This is fabulous! Self-acceptance is something I have always fought with, but I have recently been able to look myself in the mirror and sometimes like what I see. Thanks for the reminder!

    • spicejac June 7, 2013 at 1:27 pm Reply

      I think we forget in the bustle of life, how wonderful we truly are, and how by accepting ourselves for who we are, can open up a world of possibilities. Thank you for your kind words! Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

The Loud Library Lady

Kate Olson ~ professional reader

Teaching Transition

Middle school is all about transitions.

Information Literacy Spaces

Improving students’ information literacy competencies and learning across the senior secondary and tertiary sectors

Ballarat Iyengar Yoga

Thoughts, Ideas and so much more

Ballarat Writers

Supporting aspiring, emerging and established writers in Ballarat and the Western Victoria region.

1000women1Voice

#EnoughIsEnough

Zealot Script

Your Portal to the World of SF&F Literature

davidkscholes

Just another WordPress.com site

NADJA

RETHINK THE NEWS

fitzbetweentheshelves.wordpress.com/

...because libraries should be magic.

North Carolina Library Jobs

Library related job openings in North Carolina

Portland Orbit

Fetichizing disintegration

Aixie's Space

Bohemian, eclectic and colourful.

Love Hope Peace

Inspired by experience, nature, philosophy, people, language, yoga, books and music

The Thrifty Hunter

Making my way around Melbourne and beyond in search of precious designer and vintage thrift finds with a bit of fashion history involved

Local & Bespoke

think globally, craft locally

JoAnn Chateau

Dog-Lover, Writer & Progressive

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

Blookup Blog

Turn and print all your digital contents, blogs and social networks into amazing real paper books on blookup.com

Press "M" for Menopause

My Life After Surgical Menopause

becoming mama with grace and humility

Raising a family on the roots of our Father. With Farm , Faith, and Family.

Adventures in International Law

Living the dream? You be the judge! Join me in my journey from corporate litigator to international lawyer. Here I will share my experiences in the world of international humanitarian and human rights law, as well as my cultural experiences, observations, and blunders along the way.

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

donette1blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

There she goes

Bookgrrl's Blog!

Ballarat Library Chick

Thoughts, Ideas and so much more

The Travelling Bentons

The everyday impressions of the peripatetic Benton's Grand Adventures

International Book Giving Day 2018

#bookgivingday 14th February 2018

Alex McCart Writes

University pieces, news & opinion

What's Abby Eating?

"Eat food, mostly plants, not too much." - Michael Pollan

Recommended Reading

Thoughts from a high school teacher librarian

wanderlora's blog

Thoughts, quotes and pics from around the world

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Gold Museum, Ballarat

Showcasing Ballarat's history

5000 POPPIES

A Community Tribute of Respect and Remembrance

British Empress

Everyday ethical wear

Rich with Life

A "Rich" girl, learning to enjoy, enrich, and embrace each and every day.

livingly dying

notes & essays on daily life with terminal cancer

Tolu's Kitchen

Where delicious dairy, gluten, sugar, soy, and yeast free food magic happens

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

MelsNattyKnits

Knitting and Yarning from Downunder!

International Librarians Network

A meeting place for librarians from around the world.

